← AI scribe / clinical notes compared
SimplePractice Note Taker
SimplePractice · Therapy notes AI · Therapy
Verdict: Safe with BAA
The vendor publicly offers a BAA on every plan we list.
BAA fine print (Add-on to any SimplePractice plan): Since June 17, 2026 SimplePractice may keep de-identified transcripts to improve its AI unless you change retention settings. Built on Anthropic's Claude. Source: https://support.simplepractice.com/hc/en-us/articles/35507783848973-Note-Taker-FAQs, checked 2026-10-16
Practice fit: EHR for mental-health practices.
Not legal advice. Summarized from the vendor's own pages. Confirm with the vendor before entering PHI.
Add-on to any SimplePractice plan
| Question | Answer | Source & date checked |
|---|---|---|
| BAA available? | Yesyes (covered by SimplePractice's BAA) | https://support.simplepractice.com/hc/en-us/articles/35507783848973-Note-Taker-FAQs checked 2026-10-16 |
| BAA self-serve? | UnverifiedunverifiedBAA referenced in FAQ; how it is executed not stated on the page we fetched. | No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16 |
| BAA fine print | StatedSince June 17, 2026 SimplePractice may keep de-identified transcripts to improve its AI unless you change retention settings. Built on Anthropic's Claude. | https://support.simplepractice.com/hc/en-us/articles/35507783848973-Note-Taker-FAQs checked 2026-10-16 |
| Trains on your data by default? | Yesyes (de-identified transcripts retained to improve AI since June 17, 2026; opt-out per clinician/client/session) | https://support.simplepractice.com/hc/en-us/articles/35507783848973-Note-Taker-FAQs checked 2026-10-16 |
| Retention | StatedTranscript available 7 days or until note is locked; de-identified copy may be kept | https://support.simplepractice.com/hc/en-us/articles/35507783848973-Note-Taker-FAQs checked 2026-10-16 |
| SOC 2 | UnverifiedunverifiedNot stated on the vendor pages we checked. | No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16 |
| ISO 42001 | UnverifiedunverifiedNot stated on the vendor pages we checked. | No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16 |
| HITRUST | Yesyes (SimplePractice HITRUST certified) | https://support.simplepractice.com/hc/en-us/articles/35507783848973-Note-Taker-FAQs checked 2026-10-16 |
| Starting price (as published) | Stated$35/clinician/mo add-on after 30-day trial | https://support.simplepractice.com/hc/en-us/articles/35507783848973-Note-Taker-FAQs checked 2026-10-16 |