← AI scribe / clinical notes compared
Upheal
Upheal · Therapy notes AI · Therapy
Verdict: Safe with BAA
The vendor publicly offers a BAA on every plan we list.
BAA fine print (Free / AI Notes / EHR): De-identified, aggregated data may be used to improve the app; liability is subject to the main Agreement's limits. Source: https://www.upheal.io/privacy-and-compliance/business-associate-agreement, checked 2026-10-16
Practice fit: Built for therapists and mental-health clinicians.
Not legal advice. Summarized from the vendor's own pages. Confirm with the vendor before entering PHI.
Free / AI Notes / EHR
| Question | Answer | Source & date checked |
|---|---|---|
| BAA available? | Yesyes (accepted during signup) | https://www.upheal.io/blog/hipaa-baa-checklist-ai-therapy-scribe checked 2026-10-16 |
| BAA self-serve? | Yesyes (accepted at signup) | https://www.upheal.io/blog/hipaa-baa-checklist-ai-therapy-scribe checked 2026-10-16 |
| BAA fine print | StatedDe-identified, aggregated data may be used to improve the app; liability is subject to the main Agreement's limits. | https://www.upheal.io/privacy-and-compliance/business-associate-agreement checked 2026-10-16 |
| Trains on your data by default? | No without explicit permission of clinician and clientno without explicit permission of clinician and clientBAA allows de-identified, aggregated data to improve the app. | https://www.upheal.io/privacy-and-compliance checked 2026-10-16 |
| Retention | StatedSession audio auto-deleted once notes are ready | https://www.upheal.io/pricing checked 2026-10-16 |
| SOC 2 | Yesyes (Type II) | https://www.upheal.io/privacy-and-compliance checked 2026-10-16 |
| ISO 42001 | UnverifiedunverifiedNot stated on the vendor pages we checked. | No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16 |
| HITRUST | UnverifiedunverifiedNot stated on the vendor pages we checked. | No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16 |
| Starting price (as published) | StatedFree plan; AI Notes $39/mo; EHR $1/session | https://www.upheal.io/blog/why-we-priced-upheal-at-1-per-session checked 2026-10-16 |