← Everyday AI for staff (ChatGPT, Copilot, Gemini...) compared

ChatGPT

OpenAI · General AI assistant · MedicalDentalTherapy

Verdict: Safe on specific plans only

BAA only on: Enterprise / Edu; ChatGPT for Healthcare; ChatGPT for Clinicians (free, verified US clinicians); API Platform.

BAA fine print (Free / Go / Plus / Pro (personal)): No BAA. Training on by default for personal plans unless you turn it off. Source: https://help.openai.com/en/articles/7730893-data-controls-faq, checked 2026-10-16

Practice fit: General-purpose tool (editorial category).

Not legal advice. Summarized from the vendor's own pages. Confirm with the vendor before entering PHI.

Free / Go / Plus / Pro (personal)

QuestionAnswerSource & date checked
BAA available?NonoNot on OpenAI's list of HIPAA-eligible products (Healthcare, Enterprise w/ Regulated Workspace, FedRAMP, Clinicians, API).https://help.openai.com/en/articles/20001069-hipaa-eligible-products-and-functionality
checked 2026-10-16
BAA self-serve?n/aFollows from the BAA answer
BAA fine printStatedNo BAA. Training on by default for personal plans unless you turn it off.https://help.openai.com/en/articles/7730893-data-controls-faq
checked 2026-10-16
Trains on your data by default?Yesyes (opt-out)'Improve the model for everyone' setting controls training on personal plans; turn it off to stop. Temporary Chats are not used for training.https://help.openai.com/en/articles/7730893-data-controls-faq
checked 2026-10-16
RetentionStatedTemporary chats up to 30 days; saved chats kept until deletedhttps://help.openai.com/en/articles/7730893-data-controls-faq
checked 2026-10-16
SOC 2Nono (SOC 2 covers API and business products)https://openai.com/security-and-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
ISO 42001YesyesOpenAI's ISO/IEC 42001 AIMS covers consumer and business products.https://openai.com/security-and-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
HITRUSTUnverifiedunverifiedNot stated on the vendor pages we checked.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
Starting price (as published)UnverifiedunverifiedNo published price found on pages we fetched.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16

Business

QuestionAnswerSource & date checked
BAA available?Nono'We do not offer a BAA for ChatGPT Business.'https://help.openai.com/en/articles/8660679-how-can-i-get-a-business-associate-agreement-baa-with-openai
checked 2026-10-16
BAA self-serve?n/aFollows from the BAA answer
BAA fine printStatedOpenAI states plainly: no BAA for ChatGPT Business.https://help.openai.com/en/articles/8660679-how-can-i-get-a-business-associate-agreement-baa-with-openai
checked 2026-10-16
Trains on your data by default?Nonohttps://openai.com/enterprise-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
RetentionStatedAdmin-controlled; deleted chats removed within 30 dayshttps://openai.com/enterprise-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
SOC 2Yesyes (Type 2)https://openai.com/enterprise-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
ISO 42001Yesyeshttps://openai.com/security-and-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
HITRUSTUnverifiedunverifiedNot stated on the vendor pages we checked.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
Starting price (as published)UnverifiedunverifiedNo published price found on pages we fetched.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16

Enterprise / Edu

QuestionAnswerSource & date checked
BAA available?Yesyes (sales-managed; Enterprise needs Regulated Workspace)https://help.openai.com/en/articles/20001069-hipaa-eligible-products-and-functionality
checked 2026-10-16
BAA self-serve?Nono (sales-managed)https://help.openai.com/en/articles/20001069-hipaa-eligible-products-and-functionality
checked 2026-10-16
BAA fine printUnverifiedunverifiedNo BAA fine print reviewed for this plan.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
Trains on your data by default?Nonohttps://openai.com/enterprise-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
RetentionStatedAdmin-controlled; deleted chats removed within 30 dayshttps://openai.com/enterprise-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
SOC 2Yesyes (Type 2)https://openai.com/enterprise-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
ISO 42001Yesyeshttps://openai.com/security-and-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
HITRUSTUnverifiedunverifiedNot stated on the vendor pages we checked.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
Starting price (as published)UnverifiedunverifiedNo published price found on pages we fetched.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16

ChatGPT for Healthcare

QuestionAnswerSource & date checked
BAA available?YesyesSome features (improved memory, event-triggered tasks, Sites, Codex cloud) are NOT covered.https://help.openai.com/en/articles/20001069-hipaa-eligible-products-and-functionality
checked 2026-10-16
BAA self-serve?UnverifiedunverifiedNo first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
BAA fine printStatedImproved memory, event-triggered tasks, Sites and Codex cloud are NOT covered by the BAA.https://help.openai.com/en/articles/20001069-hipaa-eligible-products-and-functionality
checked 2026-10-16
Trains on your data by default?Nonohttps://openai.com/enterprise-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
RetentionStatedAdmin-controlled; deleted chats removed within 30 dayshttps://openai.com/enterprise-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
SOC 2Yesyes (Type 2)https://openai.com/enterprise-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
ISO 42001Yesyeshttps://openai.com/security-and-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
HITRUSTUnverifiedunverifiedNot stated on the vendor pages we checked.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
Starting price (as published)UnverifiedunverifiedNo published price found on pages we fetched.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16

ChatGPT for Clinicians (free, verified US clinicians)

QuestionAnswerSource & date checked
BAA available?Yesyes (individual, self-serve in Settings > Agreements)MD/DO, NP, PA, pharmacists with NPI. Single-user BAA only.https://help.openai.com/en/articles/20001202-chatgpt-for-clinicians
checked 2026-10-16
BAA self-serve?Yesyes (Settings > Agreements)https://help.openai.com/en/articles/20001202-chatgpt-for-clinicians
checked 2026-10-16
BAA fine printStatedSingle-user BAA for the verified clinician only; does not cover staff or the practice.https://help.openai.com/en/articles/20001202-chatgpt-for-clinicians
checked 2026-10-16
Trains on your data by default?Nonohttps://help.openai.com/en/articles/20001202-chatgpt-for-clinicians
checked 2026-10-16
RetentionUnverifiedunverifiedNot stated on the vendor pages we checked.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
SOC 2UnverifiedunverifiedNot stated on the vendor pages we checked.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
ISO 42001Yesyeshttps://openai.com/security-and-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
HITRUSTUnverifiedunverifiedNot stated on the vendor pages we checked.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
Starting price (as published)StatedFree (verified US clinicians)https://help.openai.com/en/articles/20001202-chatgpt-for-clinicians
checked 2026-10-16

API Platform

QuestionAnswerSource & date checked
BAA available?Yesyes (self-serve for eligible orgs; requires Modified Retention)https://help.openai.com/en/articles/8660679-how-can-i-get-a-business-associate-agreement-baa-with-openai
checked 2026-10-16
BAA self-serve?Yes for eligible orgsyes for eligible orgshttps://help.openai.com/en/articles/8660679-how-can-i-get-a-business-associate-agreement-baa-with-openai
checked 2026-10-16
BAA fine printStatedRequires Modified/Zero Data Retention on the API; only eligible endpoints are covered.https://help.openai.com/en/articles/8660679-how-can-i-get-a-business-associate-agreement-baa-with-openai
checked 2026-10-16
Trains on your data by default?Nonohttps://openai.com/enterprise-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
RetentionStatedUp to 30 days for abuse monitoring; zero data retention for eligible endpointshttps://openai.com/enterprise-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
SOC 2Yesyes (Type 2)https://openai.com/enterprise-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
ISO 42001Yesyeshttps://openai.com/security-and-privacy/
checked 2026-10-16
HITRUSTUnverifiedunverifiedNot stated on the vendor pages we checked.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
Starting price (as published)UnverifiedunverifiedNo published price found on pages we fetched.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16