← Everyday AI for staff (ChatGPT, Copilot, Gemini...) compared

Claude

Anthropic · General AI assistant · MedicalDentalTherapy

Verdict: Safe on specific plans only

BAA only on: Enterprise (HIPAA-ready); API (first-party).

BAA fine print (Enterprise (HIPAA-ready)): Connectors, Skills, Claude in Chrome, cloud Cowork and beta features are NOT covered. Source: https://privacy.anthropic.com/en/articles/8114513-business-associate-agreements-baa-for-commercial-customers, checked 2026-10-16

Practice fit: General-purpose tool (editorial category).

Not legal advice. Summarized from the vendor's own pages. Confirm with the vendor before entering PHI.

Free / Pro / Max (personal)

QuestionAnswerSource & date checked
BAA available?UnverifiedunverifiedAnthropic names its API, Claude in Microsoft Foundry and Enterprise as HIPAA-ready; consumer plans are not listed. No explicit 'no' statement found.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
BAA self-serve?UnverifiedunverifiedNo first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
BAA fine printUnverifiedunverifiedNo BAA fine print reviewed for this plan.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
Trains on your data by default?User choiceuser choice (asked at signup)Since Aug/Oct 2025 users must pick whether chats train models. Flagged-for-safety chats may be used regardless.https://www.anthropic.com/news/updates-to-our-consumer-terms
checked 2026-10-16
RetentionStated30 days if training is off; 5 years if training is onhttps://www.anthropic.com/news/updates-to-our-consumer-terms
checked 2026-10-16
SOC 2UnverifiedunverifiedAnthropic's certification page covers commercial products only.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
ISO 42001UnverifiedunverifiedCertification page covers commercial products only.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
HITRUSTUnverifiedunverifiedNot stated on the vendor pages we checked.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
Starting price (as published)UnverifiedunverifiedNo published price found on pages we fetched.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16

Team

QuestionAnswerSource & date checked
BAA available?UnverifiedunverifiedNot listed among HIPAA-ready services.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
BAA self-serve?UnverifiedunverifiedNo first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
BAA fine printUnverifiedunverifiedNo BAA fine print reviewed for this plan.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
Trains on your data by default?Nonohttps://privacy.anthropic.com/en/articles/7996868-is-my-data-used-for-model-training
checked 2026-10-16
RetentionStatedKept in product until deleted; deleted chats purged within 30 dayshttps://privacy.anthropic.com/en/articles/7996866-how-long-do-you-store-my-organization-s-data
checked 2026-10-16
SOC 2Yesyes (Type I & II)https://privacy.claude.com/en/articles/10015870-what-certifications-has-anthropic-obtained
checked 2026-10-16
ISO 42001Yesyeshttps://privacy.claude.com/en/articles/10015870-what-certifications-has-anthropic-obtained
checked 2026-10-16
HITRUSTUnverifiedunverifiedNot stated on the vendor pages we checked.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
Starting price (as published)UnverifiedunverifiedNo published price found on pages we fetched.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16

Enterprise (HIPAA-ready)

QuestionAnswerSource & date checked
BAA available?Yesyes (Primary Owner turns on HIPAA in settings and accepts BAA)Connectors, Skills, Claude in Chrome, cloud Cowork and beta features are not covered.https://privacy.anthropic.com/en/articles/8114513-business-associate-agreements-baa-for-commercial-customers
checked 2026-10-16
BAA self-serve?Yesyes (Primary Owner accepts BAA in settings)https://privacy.anthropic.com/en/articles/8114513-business-associate-agreements-baa-for-commercial-customers
checked 2026-10-16
BAA fine printStatedConnectors, Skills, Claude in Chrome, cloud Cowork and beta features are NOT covered.https://privacy.anthropic.com/en/articles/8114513-business-associate-agreements-baa-for-commercial-customers
checked 2026-10-16
Trains on your data by default?Nonohttps://privacy.anthropic.com/en/articles/7996868-is-my-data-used-for-model-training
checked 2026-10-16
RetentionStatedKept until deleted; deletes purged within 30 days; 'Covered Models' need 30-day retentionhttps://privacy.anthropic.com/en/articles/7996866-how-long-do-you-store-my-organization-s-data
checked 2026-10-16
SOC 2Yesyes (Type I & II)https://privacy.claude.com/en/articles/10015870-what-certifications-has-anthropic-obtained
checked 2026-10-16
ISO 42001Yesyeshttps://privacy.claude.com/en/articles/10015870-what-certifications-has-anthropic-obtained
checked 2026-10-16
HITRUSTUnverifiedunverifiedNot stated on the vendor pages we checked.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
Starting price (as published)UnverifiedunverifiedNo published price found on pages we fetched.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16

API (first-party)

QuestionAnswerSource & date checked
BAA available?Yesyes (sign BAA, then sales enables HIPAA)Batch, Files, Skills, Code Execution, Computer Use and Web Fetch are not covered.https://privacy.anthropic.com/en/articles/8114513-business-associate-agreements-baa-for-commercial-customers
checked 2026-10-16
BAA self-serve?Partlypartly (sign BAA, then sales enables HIPAA)https://privacy.anthropic.com/en/articles/8114513-business-associate-agreements-baa-for-commercial-customers
checked 2026-10-16
BAA fine printStatedBatch, Files, Skills, Code Execution, Computer Use and Web Fetch are NOT covered.https://privacy.anthropic.com/en/articles/8114513-business-associate-agreements-baa-for-commercial-customers
checked 2026-10-16
Trains on your data by default?Nonohttps://privacy.anthropic.com/en/articles/7996868-is-my-data-used-for-model-training
checked 2026-10-16
RetentionStatedDeleted within 30 days by default; ZDR by agreementhttps://privacy.anthropic.com/en/articles/7996866-how-long-do-you-store-my-organization-s-data
checked 2026-10-16
SOC 2Yesyes (Type I & II)https://privacy.claude.com/en/articles/10015870-what-certifications-has-anthropic-obtained
checked 2026-10-16
ISO 42001Yesyeshttps://privacy.claude.com/en/articles/10015870-what-certifications-has-anthropic-obtained
checked 2026-10-16
HITRUSTUnverifiedunverifiedNot stated on the vendor pages we checked.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
Starting price (as published)UnverifiedunverifiedNo published price found on pages we fetched.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16