← Everyday AI for staff (ChatGPT, Copilot, Gemini...) compared

Slack AI

Slack (Salesforce) · Workspace AI · MedicalDentalTherapy

Verdict: Safe on specific plans only

BAA only on: Enterprise (Grid).

BAA fine print (Enterprise (Grid)): PHI allowed only in messages, files, file names and private channel/DM names; Slack AI coverage not stated. Source: https://slack.com/help/articles/360020685594-Slack-and-HIPAA, checked 2026-10-16

Practice fit: General-purpose tool (editorial category).

Not legal advice. Summarized from the vendor's own pages. Confirm with the vendor before entering PHI.

Pro / Business+

QuestionAnswerSource & date checked
BAA available?NonoAn Enterprise plan is required.https://slack.com/help/articles/360020685594-Slack-and-HIPAA
checked 2026-10-16
BAA self-serve?n/aFollows from the BAA answer
BAA fine printn/aFollows from the BAA answer
Trains on your data by default?UnverifiedunverifiedNo first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
RetentionUnverifiedunverifiedNo first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
SOC 2UnverifiedunverifiedNo first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
ISO 42001UnverifiedunverifiedNo first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
HITRUSTUnverifiedunverifiedNo first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
Starting price (as published)UnverifiedunverifiedNo published price found on pages we fetched.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16

Enterprise (Grid)

QuestionAnswerSource & date checked
BAA available?Yes for messages and files onlyyes for messages and files onlyNo PHI in any Slack feature except messages, files, file names and private channel/DM names. Whether Slack AI is covered is not stated.https://slack.com/help/articles/360020685594-Slack-and-HIPAA
checked 2026-10-16
BAA self-serve?UnverifiedunverifiedNo first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
BAA fine printStatedPHI allowed only in messages, files, file names and private channel/DM names; Slack AI coverage not stated.https://slack.com/help/articles/360020685594-Slack-and-HIPAA
checked 2026-10-16
Trains on your data by default?UnverifiedunverifiedNo first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
RetentionUnverifiedunverifiedNo first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
SOC 2UnverifiedunverifiedNo first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
ISO 42001UnverifiedunverifiedNo first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
HITRUSTUnverifiedunverifiedNo first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16
Starting price (as published)UnverifiedunverifiedNo published price found on pages we fetched.No first-party source found · checked 2026-10-16